DVLA makes driving licence exchange more difficult

From 11th January 2013 the DVLA has made it more difficult for non EU drivers to exchange their foreign licence for a British one.

The change in law means requests to exchange driving licences from outside the EU will only be accepted if the licence holder can prove they passed a driving test in a country where the testing standards are comparable with those in Britain.

Driving licences issued by countries in the European Union and three other countries in the European Economic Area are treated equally. Drivers from the following countries are able to exchange their driving licences for a British licence:

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Cyprus, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Similar rules also apply to:

Australia, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Hong Kong, Japan, Monaco, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland and Zimbabwe.

Driving licences from these countries can be exchanged for a full British licence providing the driver took and passed their test in one of these countries or an EU/EEA member state.

If you may be affected and would like advice, please get in touch.


Richard Silver CTA Call us on 0808 231 3908